Author Topic: Guitar Hero meets Goldeneye... why has no one tried this???  (Read 1501 times)

strat_man

Guitar Hero meets Goldeneye... why has no one tried this???
« on: April 11, 2018, 12:57:20 am »
Newbie here, coming back to Goldeneye as an adult.  I love watching speed runs and videos where users share their knowledge. So I wanted to post this to see what true speedrunners think.

I gather that TAS runs are not accepted for world records, and I agree with that logic.  But where it gets a little grey for me is when you try to define a "tool".  I have an example and want to see if a speed run using this technique would be accepted or not.  Basically this would work best on short levels with little RNG.  Imagine if you could use a TAS to determine exactly when each button needs to be pressed and then create a simple PC application that runs like Guitar Hero where all you are trying to do is hit the buttons at the precise moment.  Would this be considered cheating and not be accepted?  I have a problem if it is because really what is happening to get world records on those levels is the runner is trying to become as much like a robot as they can and just press the right buttons at the right time.  The Guitar Hero app, as I will call it, just helps them become that robot easier.  What's everyone think?